The castle is situated on the east Kintyre coast opposite the island of Arran at the far end of the picturesque village of Skipness. The nearest town is that of Tarbert which is about 20 minutes away by car. To get to Skipness from Tarbert, take the Main Campbeltown road south. Just past the Kennacraig Ferry terminal, turn left following the signs for the Arran ferry. At the Claonig ferry slipway, keep going for another 2 miles.
Skipness Castle is one of the Largest surviving ruins in Argyll and is a great place to visit as you can enter the castle and walk on the battlements. It is a little unusual as it is built on a field near the coast and not on the usual defendable rocky promontory that most of Scottish castles have been built. The original structure on the site was the chapel and hall house which were built at the end of the 12th century to the beginning of the 13th century. The excellent Tower house was built sometime in the 16th century and rises to a magnificent five stories.
The original castle buildings were put there by Dugald MacSween . Dugald was the son of the Macsween who built Castle Sween to the north in Knapdale near Tighnabruaich.
The castle changed hands in 1262 and was then the property of the Menteith family, eventually it became crown property and then was given to the Clan Campbell. After many changes of fortune the castle is currently looked after by Historic Scotland.